The Asian and Oceanian Outstanding Achievement Epilepsy Award (AOEA) was introduced by the Commission of Asian and Oceanian Affairs (CAOA) of the ILAE in 2010.


The purpose of the Award is to recognise and pay tribute to medical or non-medical professionals for their extraordinary contributions to Epilepsy Care. It is the highest honour bestowed by CAOA, and is given for the lifetime of the recipient.

Recipients will be invited to attend the 10th Asian and Oceanian Epilepsy Congress in Singapore, August 2014, to receive the Award, a plaque and a small gift. Whilst the Award does not carry monetary value or provide travel or accommodation expenses, recipients will be offered free (non-transferable) registration to the Congress.

Who can nominate

All ILAE chapters in the Asia-Oceanian Region, all IBE Members in the South East Asian and Western Pacific regions, and any member of the CAOA, ASEPA and Task Force Teams (TFTs) may each nominate a maximum of 3 candidates. An authorised officer of the nominating association must submit nominations from ILAE chapters and IBE associations. Nominees should not previously have received the ILAE-IBE Ambassador for Epilepsy Award or the AOEA Award. The purpose of the AOEA is to honour those who deserve the highest recognition and who have not had the opportunity to be recognised.

Closing Date

The closing date for the receipt of nominations is Saturday 10th May 2014.

Download Nomination Form

To download the Nomination Form, PLEASE CLICK HERE

[divider style=”shadow”]

Previous Recipients of AOEA Award (2012)


Liwen Wu (China)
Pongsakdi Visudhiphan (Thailand)
Kurupath Radhakrishnan (India)
Sunao Kaneko (Japan)
Yushi Inoue (Japan)
Leonor Cabral-Lim (Philippines)

Also shown:
Byung In Lee (Korea)
Josephine Gutiérrez (Phillipines)
Robert Cole (Australia)